FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Parkour and Freerunning

Cmink32
I was actually quite amazed that this topic hadn't been started yet. I am just curious about people opinions on the surge of people starting to learn parkour and the effect that is will have on society in the next few years.

Personally I believe it is awesome. Being able to learn how to look at your environment in a new way is refreshing. I have only been doing parkour for 6 months now so I would in no way call myself a tracuer yet. I started learning parkour after having seen a group of people practicing it in the town that I live it. I had seen it on youtube and such but never saw it first hand. The fluid, yet strong, motions are mesmerizing.

I am disappointed though at the same time. Even just in the six months I have been practicing I have seen it get corrupted. People seem to focus more on trying to show off and forget why it was all started. Becoming more confident with yourself and your ability to control your body on a level that most people don't even realize is possible. It was about not worrying about making a bigger jump then another person or putting that extra bit of flair on the end of a motion, but rather being able to conquer your own fears and push yourself beyond what you thought your own limits were. To unlock a way of moving through our environment that most thought was lost due to evolution.
Keran
There were a few topics about PK/3r, but they weren't the most popular ones...

I personally train Freerun for about 2 years now. I started out with Parkour, but soon I saw that it wasn't enough for me. I believe that Parkour seriously limits my potential, so I went into acrobatics, tricking and street stunts and combining it into my run. So I'm a freerunner now.