FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Problem launching phpmyadmin under Ubuntu

DoctorBeaver
I'm new to Ubuntu so please forgive my stupidity.

I installed LAMP using Synaptic Program Manager on an old PC and I could access it from Firefox. I've just done exactly the same on another PC and when I tried to point Firefox at it I got a 404 error.

I uninstalled & used Synaptic to re-install. I'm still getting the 404.

I haven't done anything after installing it the 2nd time. Did I forget to do something this time around? Synaptic Manager says it's there too.

Incidentally, I can use Terminal to access mysql do it's just phpmyadmin that isn't available. Also, I installed mysqlNavigator and that's in the main menu working just fine - but I don't like using it. I want phpmyadmin! Crying or Very sad
DoctorBeaver
I used the file browser to do a search, and a lot of phpmyadmin files showed up. But I can't find out exactly where they are as no directory path is shown. I searched from File System.
Fire Boar
They should be in /var/www. Try this:

apt-get install apache2 php5 php5-mysql libapache2-mod-php5

Then point your browser to http://localhost/phpmyadmin/

If that doesn't work, try removing and reinstalling phpMyAdmin.
DoctorBeaver
Fire Boar - thank you for your reply.

I did apt-get install apache2 php5 php5-mysql libapache2-mod-php5, still got the 404.

I used Synaptic to uninstall phpmyadmin and chose "Remove completely".

I then used the terminal again with sudo apt-get install phpmyadmin. It all downloaded and I was asked which server to use. Apache2 was highlighted so I accepted it.

I used Synaptic again to check, and it found it OK. It said it was installed, gave all the versions & everything. The only thing it didn't tell me is where it is.

I opened Firefox, typed http://localhost/phpmyadmin/ in the address bar and got the following 404 again:-