FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

linux and virtulisation

darrenfinch
Hi,

I am thinking about upgrading my laptop (Desktop replacement). Now I don't want to go down the Windows Vista road and as I have been playing with Linux (for work and home) for many years am seriously considering switching over to Linux (Probably Fedora or Suse).

Unfortunately there are still a few Windows apps and things that I cannot live without and so will either need to go with Wine or Crossover.

I also have a passion for games (I will get a laptop with reasonable amount of RAM and Graphics controller).

SO - for those out there that already have Linux running with either Wine or PC Emulation running - what do you think ?
Fire Boar
Wine works for many older things - you can find out exactly how well a particular program works at http://appdb.winehq.org/ but in the case of other things, virtualization or dual-booting is the way to go. It really depends on what you want to do. VirtualBox is a great free application that you can use to boot Windows from within Linux, but if you want full use of your system's resources and cannot use Wine, dual-booting is your best option.

Personally? I have an XP partition and a couple of Linuxes, but I don't use Windows, ever, any more.
ocalhoun
Dual boot would be the way to go.
Things to consider:
*programs running in emulation or a virtualized computer are much slower
*Linux support for wireless networking is sketchy, and can have hard-to-solve issues
*emulation works best for older software, and can be hard to do (though virtual computers are easy in Linux using VMware)

If it weren't a laptop, and you weren't a gamer, it would be great to use linux and emulate anything else you need, but these circumstances might change things.
Agent ME
ocalhoun wrote:
Things to consider:
*programs running in emulation or a virtualized computer are much slower