FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

PC restart because of CPU fan RPM!?

caaltt
Hello,

I'm an aspiring tech as well as web designer, but I've been having a restart problem with my PC.

I've done almost everything possible other than replacing the CPU to troubleshoot. But, the other day someone told me that there is a possibility the CPU fan is droping below a certain RPM which may be the cause.

Is this even possible?

My CPU is a AMD Sempron 2800+

I know it's a very vague destcription of what I've done so far....just know that it's not a heating problem, it's not the PS, not the motherboard or GPU and not a software issue.

What do you think??
progman89
There is a virus going around that causes your PC to restart continually...I can't remember what it's called. Try running the computer in safe mode and see if it doesn't restart...if it doesn't, it may be the virus. But you might want to check to see if there's a utility to control CPU fan speed if that doesn't work.
Neus
its called zotob, it has many variants out too... thus increasing different ways you migth have it... it targets 2000 based computers, which means xp too..

more info:
http://www.microsoft.com/security/incident/zotob.mspx

might wanna give that a try, as you are having the symptoms of it (random shutdowns and restarts)

if no zotob...