FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Parsing PHP in HTML

georgeodowd
Well, this is where I admit I'm rather new to all of this, but here's my conundrum:

I want to embed php in some of my html files just to recycle some code, but it isn't being parsed... the php tags are just displayed on the page. I've done some googling about this and suggestions ranged from adding a line to the .htaccess file (which didn't work) to changing settings in Apache (which doesn't apply, since I'm trying to host these pages via Frihost).

Is there any straight-forward way to do this?

Many thanks in advance.
badai
if you want to host it here, maybe you should just upload it and see if it work.
Fire Boar
PHP is only parsed in PHP pages and those included or required by a PHP script. Therefore, you need to use the .php extension for such pages.
rvec
Fire Boar wrote:
PHP is only parsed in PHP pages and those included or required by a PHP script. Therefore, you need to use the .php extension for such pages.
Not sure if you meant this, but those included pages also have to be .php pages. Including a .html page won't make it parse the code.
sonam
If you want include html tags and parse it then you can use .txt file extension. Including .txt files in php results with displaying html. Even more, you can put some php inline script betveen and get result like php. Simple example for e.g. include.txt:

Code:
<html>
<head>
<title>TXT INCLUDE EXAMPLE</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</head>
<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF" text="#000000">
<h1>This is included file...</h1>
<?php echo "<h2>...and this is PHP echo!</h2>"; ?>
</body>
</html>

Sonam
georgeodowd
rvec wrote:
Fire Boar wrote:
Not sure if you meant this, but those included pages also have to be .php pages. Including a .html page won't make it parse the code.