FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

PHP noob problem

xavax
I'm quite new to PHP etc. and need help. My problem is this:
I've been using HTML forms to send info to PHP using Post, which works fine, but now I need to send more info which the user can't change.
I need a way to make a field unchangable or another way to send information to a PHP page.
Thanks Wink
rvec
you can use sessions. All other info can be changed by a user.

Sessions can be used like this:
start every page in which you might want to use sessions like this:
session_start();
Make sure that's before any output is send to the browser, so don't put any echo or html before it.

and then you can use the $_SESSION superglobal.
So for example:
Code:
<?php
session_start();
$_SESSION['foo'] = 'bar';
?>

and in another page the user visits later (will work as long as the user didn't close the browser and has visited the first page or any other page on your site with sessions in the last 5 min).
Code:
<?php
session_start();
echo $_SESSION['foo'];
?>
xavax
Thanks. Wink
kv
Or if those values are form specific, you can use hidden variables in the form. The value can be set by php dynamically.
rvec
kv wrote:
Or if those values are form specific, you can use hidden variables in the form. The value can be set by php dynamically.

Those can be changed by users easily. Not by normal users, but those who know a bit more about the net can easily do so. A hidden form can be used for simple stuff like on which topic you are replying, or which product you want to bid on, but for info the user shouldn't be able to change (is the user logged in, did he pay, how much will the products the user chose cost, is the user an admin) you should never use hidden forms, and always use sessions.
Fire Boar