FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Joomla Installation - problem to install

joharin
Hi all frihost members & moderators,

I have received free hosting here and I'm trying to setup my site. As I am new to php and all other stuff, I keep on trying new things on trial and error principle.

I was told that Joomla is quite a powerful apps to use. I have uploaded all the required files to the site. However, i'm having these problems;

1. During pre installation check, all other things are OK or green in color, but only "session save path" is in red which is unwriteable. I was told that this is ok as it won't affect anything. Is this true?

2. Now, during MySQL database configuration, after filling up all the details, I clicked on Next and keep on getting error message saying that the password and/or username used is incorrect;
-which host name should I use? is it just frihost, or i have to put frihost.net/frihost.com?
-which MySQL username i should put?
-which password should I use? is it the password for MySQL a/c? I tried that but failed.
-which database name I should use?
-which MySQL Table Prefix I should use?

Hope that anyone can help me on this. I'm still new to understand all this. Hoping to get an answer here...Wink

Thank you.
Bondings
1 will most likely not be a problem I guess.

For 2, the hostname should be "localhost" and you should create a database in DirectAdmin and use the database name of the one you created, together with the username and password you used to create it. The table prefix is your choice I guess.
joharin
Hi Bondings,

thanks for your advice, I have successfully installed Joomla and currently working on tweaking few things in it. Thank you so much for your quick feedback. Now I have to admit that it's a BLESS I stumbled upon this forum!!!

YOU GUYS PROVED IT AGAIN THAT YOU ARE ROCK!!!
polij
Hi,