FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Building new computer - Vista or XP?

Ghost Rider103
Ok, so I am happy with my laptop that I currently have, it does great for just graphics. I am a graphic designer, and this is where I usually make most of my money now a days.

But, though this laptop is fairly new, along with the other PC's in my house, I want one that can handle a lot more.

Since this subject probably depends on what kind of hardware my computer is going to be using, I guess I will give you a small amount of detail that I know for sure is going into my computer.

Firstly, I am going to have 1000GB HDD (Two HD's 500GB a piece).
4GB of RAM
My video card will support me with 1GB (Not sure that matters or not to you, but I figured just in case).

I don't think it is necessary to sit here and type everything exactly that I am going to buy. (Though I do have it all written down on paper, if it is truly needed).

Anyways, like I said I am a graphic designer, and I do it quite a bit. This means multiple programs open at once. I have about 3 differnt design programs open at once, sometimes there is a fourth which is a 3D program which takes up a lot of memory. Plus I have at least 5 different pages open on my web browser, and MSN Messenger, sometimes AIM, and YIM. I always have my mIRC program open. So those are some of the details on what will be running almost always.

So the big question, should I go with Windows Vista, or XP? My laptop currently has Windows Vista, and I do notice that it eats up quite a bit of memory, just when the thing is idling. I don't know if this will affect me very much since I am going to have 4GB of RAM, but I could be wrong?