FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Private message system "delete selected."

Diablosblizz
Hey, I'm doing a private message system for my site and can't quite find out how to have a user check a box and then press a button while PHP checks which ones are checked.

HTML for the buttons:

Code:
<div align="right"><input type="submit" name="delete" value="Delete Selected"> <input type="submit" name="delete" value="Delete All"></div></form>

HTML for the checkbox:

Code:
<td align='center'><input type='checkbox' name='deletem' value='$id'></td>

So, what I figured is that when you press "Delete selected" it posts all of the "deletem" numbers but all it does is get the highest number and I can't figure out why.

What am I doing wrong and how can I fix it?
joostvane
Hey,

I'm not an expert on this, so don't shoot me if I'm wrong ^^

I think you might have to delete them one by one using some buttons, or you could rename 'deletem' to deletem1, deletem2, because I think it overwrites all the time. I don't think its cool to have 2 inputs named the same on the same page.

Also make sure that in the next code your php script checks if the $id is actually owned by the one who is trying to delete it. It won't be hard for a passerby to just change the value with a JS injection or simply downloading the page.

Code:
<td align='center'><input type='checkbox' name='deletem' value='$id'></td>

I hope any other guys can help or correct me if I'm wrong,
Diablosblizz
To add delete buttons to all of the messages would just throw my site off, I know this way is possible cause forums do it all the time.

Also, I will secure my method, I just need to fix it before I do so. Smile

Thanks for your thoughts.
rvec
just take a look at the sourcecode of those forums then, you could just copy that.

I think they use checkboxes with an id for each pm and the "delete selected" button in in fact a submit button.
Diablosblizz