FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Has anyone installed Moodle successfully?

infinisa
Hello All

I should like to install Moodle on my Frihost-hosted site. As I have never done anything remotely like this before, I should like to know whether anyone has successfully installed Moodle (I mean on a Frihost-hosted site).

This is so:
    1. I can avoid wasting my time if it's not possible.
    2. If it is possible, perhaps someone who has done it can give me some useful pointers.

Thanks in advance for your help!

P.S.: I've looked up Moodle on the forums, and although there are several posts by folks wanting to install Moodle, I'm not sure that anyone has actually got Moodle working.
rvec
It should be possible, I'll try it out.
infinisa
Hello rvec

Thanks for offering to have a go.

By the way, it looks like the most recent versions of Moodle (1.6 to 1.9) cannot be installed on Frihost hosted sites, as they require MySQL version 4.1.12 or 4.1.16, and we only have 4.0.23.

Moodle 1.5.4 (which is happy with version 3.23 ) is available for download at http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=30935

Good luck.

P.S.: Surely someone out there has already installed Moodle and got it working?
rvec
yeah just noticed that. The latest version at least doesn't work, just like with drupal.
infinisa
Hello rvec

I don't know about you, but I managed to install Moodle 1.5.4 OK, as you can see from http://infinisa.com/moodle/.

The only problem is (and it's a big one!) that the cron job (in this case, http://infinisa.frih.net/moodle/admin/cron.php) says it does its thing:
Code:
Server Time: Thu, 19 Jun 2008 17:12:36 -0500

Starting activity modules
Processing module function assignment_cron ...done.
Processing module function chat_cron ...done.
Processing module function forum_cron ...done.
Processing module function journal_cron ...done.
Processing module function workshop_cron ...done.