FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Help! Need to make a site from scratch!

speeDemon
Ok, well by scratch I do not really mean scratch. I have already made many web pages which are linked together by hyperlinks, these .html files have also got flash content and Jpeg pictures which are also saved in the same folder.

I have made a Frihost account and got the name servers and all that. I also have bought a domain name with the extension .com. I also have Filezilla's latest version downloaded.

But after all this, the truth is that I know nothing about FTPs and I don't really have much knowledge about PHP, HTML, CGI etc. All I did was, that I made some pages in Dreamweaver 8 and now I want to upload my wiles to the WWW. What should I do?? I am an animator not Script writer! Surprised

I Don't really know how the whole system works, but my theory is that you buy a domain name which redirects people to a host, who, with the help of some kind of software gives the user the files they want to see, or lets say, it shows them the website. Is my theory correct? If not please tell me what is correct.

I also tried to connect through filezilla, I entered my ftp.mydomainname.frihost.net as the host, then I gave my password and user name. This is what its output is-

Status: Resolving IP-Address for ftp.mydomainname.frihost.net
Status: Connection established, waiting for welcome message...
Response: 220---------- Welcome to Pure-FTPd [TLS] ----------
Response: 220-You are user number 2 of 50 allowed.
Response: 220-Local time is now 09:04. Server port: 21.
Response: 220-This is a private system - No anonymous login
Response: 220-IPv6 connections are also welcome on this server.
Response: 220 You will be disconnected after 15 minutes of inactivity.
Command: USER username
Response: 331 User username OK. Password required
Command: PASS ********
Error: Could not connect to server