FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

What's the best to run Windows live from CD or USB?

dickyzin
I would like to know what's the best way to run Microsoft Windows (doesn't matter what version yet) from a CD or a USB stick. I know with the Linux operating system there are distributions like Puppy Linux and Pen Drive Linux which are quite good. How can I achieve this with Windows? Is there a Windows distribution like Pen Drive Windows?
andy26
I am no expert on this but i think you would have to perform a windows instillation on your pen drive. there may be cracked versions that you can put on to a CD or pendrive but the only thing i can think of is installing it through the main setup onto your pen drive if it possible.
dickyzin
Thanks for your reply. I have actually seen an installation image with a cut down version of Windows XP. But I don't know how it is made or what it is called or where I can find it.
andy26
I'd say to look for it on a torrent search site. aslong as you use your own Serial Key i dont see a problem with downloading a windows disk.
csoftdev
windows is very resources hungry and running it from CD or USB stick is something that is not very reliable to me. Are you sure that is really what you want? I have tried many distros of linux live version to boot from either cd or usb and i still don't quite satisfy with them, so I doubted that I will ever try any live windows if there is any out there.
singh.gurjeet
You may be able o run Windows off of a USB, but not off a CD! The live-cd versions of Linux are specially crafed for that purpose, to not touch the hard-drive; neither read nor write (unless you really want it to)!.

I have not come across a Windows version that lets you do that. If you do find a way to run Windows from just a CD, please let me know, I'd like to use it and spread the info too.

Best regards
hunnyhiteshseth