FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Text Based Games?

jsk02a
Any fans of text based games here? MUDS, MUSHES, MUXes, etc? I've been playing these since the early 1990s and I always come back to them, WoW and other graphical games can only offer so much!

If you are unfamiliar with these types of games, they are (usually) free to play, are based on a person, or a group of people's creative output (or they are based on some other theme like Starwars, Startek, Books, etc). Essentially, you can create a character in a totally original world written (usually) by another person or group of people.

Different Platforms:

MUDs - These types of games are traditinally hack'n'slash, where you go around and kill monsters or other players and gain levels..usually not a lot of depth to MUDs, but I have played on a few that incorporated role-play into them. These generally rely on hard-coded serverside systems.

MUSHes & MUXes
- These are vastly different from MUDs, they essentially have a more open environment based largely on softcoded systems (in game code) rather than hardcoded ones (server-side). I prefer these types of games because they focus more on Role-Play and storylines...developing a character through interaction with other character and usually no monster/npc type combat (though some do offer this type of combat).

There are also MOOs and MUCKs, but I am not very familiar with those.