FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Website design for multiple screen resolutions

deanhills
I learned something yesterday. Possibly this is elementary for most of you, but it gave me a great thrill when it succeeded in the end. I am not a professional Web designer. It is just a hobby for me. So for lack of anybody else with the know-how I designed a Website for our Department at work in 2002 using FrontPage 2000 (I now use FrontPage 2003). At that time all of us had 14 or 15 inch monitors and it looked quite OK. Then a year ago when we were given new hardware those who qualified for new hardware were given 19 inch HP LCD monitors which was like jumping from the archaic to modern. I then received complaints from people who still had the smaller resolution screens that they could not see the shortcuts in the title bar of the Website, i.e. like the ones of Frihost above. Some of the shortcuts folded in or disappeared on their screens.

I then had to puzzle about this, and after working it out over a month or so came up with a solution. Since I am a very basic designer I use tables, so I adjusted all of the tables to 100% so that the Website could expand in proportion to the resolution settings. At that time I thought I had to accept that the Website that had been designed will never look good again. For example I had a collage of photos in one row, and they were now spread with lots of colour space in between. Some of the people who had not been upgraded and had 15 inch LCD screens, or were using the Website on 15 inch laptop screens were OK, but quite a growing number of people with 19 inch LCD screens had this stretched look of the Website. When my boss got a 21 inch HP LCD monitor it really looked awful to me. He thought he could live with it, but it really irritated me.