FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

a question about wireless

progman89
Although I definitely have above-average knowledge about computers in general, I'm new to more advanced stuff about wireless networks, so I was wondering if someone could help me with this.
I have a Wireless-B network on a 2.4ghz frequency. When someone dials a phone with a 5.8ghz frequency between a computer with a wireless card and the router, it sometimes will disconnect the computer from the network. I had thought it wouldn't be a problem because the two were on different frequencies, but it seems to be a problem...why is a 5.4ghz frequency device interfering with a 2.4ghz frequency device?
gonzo
progman89 wrote:
I'm new to more advanced stuff about wireless

http://www.netstumbler.com/

Quote:
I have a Wireless-B network on a 2.4ghz frequency. ..phone with a 5.8ghz frequency

Could those phones be using multiple 2.4 channels? Have you tried changing your B channel?

You might want to invest either in a few SoHo repeaters or look into MiMo wireless
Ruba
You said:
Quote:
...someone dials a phone with a 5.8ghz frequency between... ...why is a 5.4ghz frequency device interfering...
I think you still had in mind 5.8GHz device.