FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Using php to change content of a .txt

Relentless
I am new to PHP and I am not familiar with its functions...

Is it possible to use a PHP based form to edit the contents of a txt file?

-----

Let me tell you the situation...

I am making a Clients Area and I am using PHP pages to import text via

<?php include("username.txt"); ?>

So instead of me having to change the whole web page for a new account I just edit the .txt file and it imports to the site. e.g. Username.txt

I use this for Forms & on site reference. To change every form for each user would take ages...

So this is easier for me. Obviously I have more .txt files to edit, Something like 20. With own individual name

-----
Unless anybody else has an easier way for importing data please let me know even I was to use one .txt file (doesn’t even have to be a text file) and change the <php include function>

Or another way to solve this is to have a PHP form which I type the future content of a selected .txt into the text box, click submit and the contents of the .txt file has changed…

-----
Hope somebody can help

Dan…
sonam
Are this txt files same with different names or different in content?

Sonam
Relentless
Thanks for your reply, (helping me again lol)

Responce:

both are diffrent,

I use txt file for diffrent things so normally hold one word or one sentance in each under a diffrent file name.

So they have diffrent names & diffrent contect, Ready for the PHP import script to disply the contents on the page...

----

I want to be able to change the content in the text files without, having to open the text files and change them myself.

And if there is a way to put all the text files into one and ask the php script to take each line or the text file or certain text, that would make my life easier.

But it doesn't have to be a text file if another format works better...

--
Dan
Relentless