FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Give Me Linux or Give Me Death!

feder
Hello everyone....

Great set of forums here! I thought I'd say hello and let you all know that Linux is a big passion of mine and am 95% of the way to eliminating my need for windows anymore. So, I'm going to jump right in here at the CTH support forums and help out where I can.

[UPDATE: this thread gathered soooo much useful information that it should be something that linux newbies will benefit greatly from reading.....so let's make this thread the place where we leave important install and starting out in linux information}
I am another linux user. I have been using unix to begin with since 1998 and then have my own linux in 1999. i have since using linux and windows as dual boot on my system and I have slowly shift my needs to linux rather than using windows nowadays.
jembo
feder wrote:
Hello everyone....

Great set of forums here! I thought I'd say hello and let you all know that Linux is a big passion of mine and am 95% of the way to eliminating my need for windows anymore. So, I'm going to jump right in here at the CTH support forums and help out where I can.

[UPDATE: this thread gathered soooo much useful information that it should be something that linux newbies will benefit greatly from reading.....so let's make this thread the place where we leave important install and starting out in linux information}

what's wrong?
windows is still good enough to be used...
smspno
jembo wrote:

Windows is still not stable and secure enough to be used Smile.
LostOverThere
Hah.

Yeah, Windows isnt exactly secure or stable. You've all heard it, but I'll say it again, I wouldn't run a hospital on Windows.

I guess its stable [enough] for the average user. But no where near stable enough for a web or mission server.
Studio Madcrow
LostOverThere wrote:
Hah.