FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

what lense should get?

bjwok
hey folks, I am new to photgraphy and have had my canon 30d for about 6 months now and am looking to upgrade the stock lense (35-55) that came with it. the style of my shooting is pretty varied, check some of my pics here:

http://www.bjwok.frih.net/

and then can someone recommend what lenses i should be looking at?

cheers!
Makslahti
I used to know stuff like that, but ill forget them always.
If i can remind a good lens, i could tell you !
jwellsy
IMHO, the most versital lens is something like a 28-135mm variable zoom lens.
Then you can get a 100-300mm zoom lens.
Those 2 lenses will cover most anything.

Those 2 will be apreciably less money than individual fixed lenses.
The pictures won't be as good as a 1.3f fixed lens.

If you want to go with individual fixed lenses you'll want at least
a wideangle lens, a portrait lens and a long range lens.
bjwok
thanks for the info guys, i am thinking about just saving the bucks and going with the canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L USM. the way i see it is if i am taking this seriously then i will eventually get it anyway...

i need about 1500 for it, so i am gonna start saving now...

anyone here got one? post some examples of it in use!
bjwok
just bought the EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L USM from ebay for 1500 as planned - now just waiting for postie! yeehaa
CTMiB
Now that you've got a decent telephoto lens, the only other one that I would suggest for a basic setup would be a good macro (close-up) lens.
bjwok
yep, thats what i will be looking at getting next. gonna really test out this thing first as i have seen examples of it at its macro end and they are pretty damn impressive let me tell you (even though it is obviously not a dedicated macro lense)
lethaltriad