FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Vista. Worth it?

Craeft
ALrighty, in actuality, I know what my opinion is on this, but I want to hear others', in hopes of changing my own. I am building a gaming/design system and I'm afraid I will need to throw Vista on it for the 64 bit support. Anyone out there who uses Vista Ultimate, tell me your thoughts. Do you think it's worth it or should I go with XP? Personally, I am still using Win2K because I hate XP. I guess my main question about Vista is, do you see it holding onto the market for a while? The reason I ask is because I have heard mixed opinions on this. Some say it will go the way it did when it was called LongHorn. However, the fact that it is now standard OS installed on over the market PCs tells me differently. I WOULD just go Linux, but there's too small of a group of programs that will run on Linux. Being a gamer and designer, I need the flexibility of program options.
I know that Vista is a resource hog. I shouldn't have to compensate for the software by uber-upgrading the hardware... but that's Windows for ya. Here's what I will be running on the system:

Asus Crosshair MOBO
4GB (2GBx2) PC2 6400 Patriot
GeForce 8800 GT (or GTX - Haven't decided yet. Benchmarks between the two are all over the place)
AMD XP6400 2xCore
1TB WD Caviar
Running off a 650W PS

Anyway, what do you all think? Vista: Worth the install?
LukeakaDanish
Vista: not worth it - even with that computer (its awesome, congrats) Vista will still feel slow, and the millions of security dialogs will still drive you mad.

Get XP - the best gaming OS by a large margin. Then dual-boot linux and if you wanna give it a try get a vista trial. You won't want to leave XP though Razz
Craeft