FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Ebay & other online auction sites

woundedhealer
I've been buying and selling on Ebay for 4 years, but the fees have gone up so much that it's not worth selling there anymore. Ebay has raised the final value fees to 7.5% when an item sells for up to 29.99. On top of this, if you live in the UK or Ireland you have to pay Luxemburg VAT which is 15%. Ebay prefers buyers to pay through paypal, which means even more fees.

Many sellers are now giving other online auction sites a try, the most popular ones are Ebid, Tazbar, QXL & CQout. I'm giving Ebid & Tazbar a go, it doesn't cost anything to put items up for sale and their successful sellers fees are lower than feebay (ebay). There's no Luxemburg VAT to pay and they don't prefer paypal, which is good. I accept nochex (UK only), google checkout & pppay, all have lower fees than paypal.

Has anyone checked out other auction sites to ebay? If so, what's your opinion of them. If you haven't would you consider giving them a try?
missdixy
I use craiglist to sell some of my things locally.
woundedhealer
missdixy wrote:

I've not heard of that, is it local to your area or country?
missdixy
woundedhealer wrote:
missdixy wrote:

http://www.craigslist.org/
It's not local to my area or the the U.S. either, though I think it may be more popular here. Go to that link, on the right side choose your country and check it out see if you like it/if it's of any help to you.
woundedhealer
missdixy wrote:
woundedhealer wrote:
missdixy wrote:

http://www.craigslist.org/
It's not local to my area or the the U.S. either, though I think it may be more popular here. Go to that link, on the right side choose your country and check it out see if you like it/if it's of any help to you.

There's a city near me on it. I find it a bit confusing at a quick glance. I might have better look tomorrow
KatanaSky