FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Question about current job -please close-

Would you take this job?
yes
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
no
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Depends... what's in the job description?
100%
 100%  [ 2 ]
Total Votes : 2

Kaze_Mitoki
I would like some advice on this one.

I am fresh out of college with an Associate's degree in computer programming. The job I took starts on March 1 and pays $12/hr. I am an auditor/quality control manager.

I'll be working second shift, 3:30pm - 2:00am, 6 days a week. that adds up to 26 hrs overtime at $18/hr.

I've got all the math done as to what my income would be, but that's not the issue. The issue is, i only work when school is in. meaning, highschool. during the summer months i have no job. Also, this was through a -temp- agency, so there's no garuntee i'll have a job when school starts back up -again- ...

Do you think i'll still have a job if I work hard enough? Would you take this job considering the hours? Please post your logic behind all of this, i'm looking for some good pro's and cons on the issue. I need to know if I should quit both of my -other- jobs and take this one, or stay at $7.25/hr getting 40 hours a week at one place and 8 hours a week at another place and look for a better opening. But, with an associate's degree...

I'm looking into getting an appartment of my own. If this job isn't stable enough I won't be able to make rent, and I am worried about that.

help?!
crdowner
What kind of lunch and/or breaks do you get? With that many hours, I would expect you to get at least 1 hour. If that is the case, you would be working 9.5 hours per day for a total of 57 hours. That reduces your overtime hours to 17 hours.

Twenty-six or even 17 hours of overtime is quite a bit especially on an ongoing basis. I think you need to ask yourself if you are up to working that much.