FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

getting started in php

TurtleShell
I'm not going to apologize for my ignorance, I'm just going to go right out and show it to all the world...

I'm new to PHP. When I say new, I mean, I've never done ANYTHING before and I'm just learning. I need a PHP enabled environment, without downloading Apache (is that possible?). I was hoping that frihost would provide me something like that, but I don't even know what I'm looking for or how to activate it.

I've been scouring the forums for 2 days looking for my answer, but I'm not finding it out there.

Can someone help me?

Alternatively, if there would be some way for me to run PHP scripts (just to test them) without accessing the internet, that would be fine for the time being as well. I need very detailed instructions because I'm a total newbie.
rvec
why don't you want to download apache?
It's a good way to test out your site before uploading it to frihost (which does support php files).

You can start like jtayl153 did here: http://www.frihost.com/forums/vt-87603.html
TurtleShell
I don't have access to the same computer all day every day; it's different computers at different times. I don't want to download apache because I'm not always in the same place. This is why I asked if I can do PHP without downloading anything. For the time being, it's just not practical. You say that frihost supports PHP files, but how do I get them to work once they've been written?

btw, thanks so much for your help.
rvec
Quote:
a fully powered webserver you can take with you on a USB Stick or even your camera's flash drive.

http://www.uniformserver.com/

There's always a solution Wink

Did you put html files on frihost before? It's almost the same. PHP is already activated, the only thing for you left to do is upload the php files (just like html) and direct your webbrowser to the files. To test this you can make this script: