FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

how to get started in IT security....

teko
Sorry I didnt know where else to post this...

This is a question for any security professionals who might frequent these pages...

how does one go about getting into area or whats the best way to go about it?

I work in IT and have always had an interest in IT security and would like to start working with it more only I dont have much experience.

I guess the best way to get started is to start working in it but for that you probably need experience...

Other than that I was planning on setting up a home network of different OSs to learn about the different ways to secure and harden different OSs.

I guess for the time being I could ask in my own company if its possible to get into more security oriented role too.

anyway any help or advice would be appreciated
crdowner
Security can cover several areas. Do you want to protect perimeters using firewalls, etc.? Do you want to protect systems by locking down operating systems? Do you want to protect files by managing security to file systems like NTFS?

What you outlined in your posts sounds like a good start. If your current employer will let you get some experience, that will help you a lot.
cosmicx
yeah...security covers a lot of fields and what I am quite interested is about cryptography...
it has a lot of algorithms, and it is very good especially to encrypt your message and transfer them in a better way...
haha, try to learn some hacking technique, I suppose it will be helpful to widen your knowledge in this field too Smile
minty
As the other posters have mentioned there are a lot of fields that security covers.

Infrastructure (network hardware)
Network Monitoring/Protecting (hardware/software)
System Security (hard-drive encryption)
Operating System Hardening (AAA [Authentication, Authorization, Accounting])

Many many more...