FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

What Mac would by with...

Da Rossa
...$ 3500? (no, not FriHs! Razz) Can be any one. Just tell me, first of all, why would you buy a Mac rather than a PC in the first place, if so, then tell me which model. iMac, Mac Pro, Macbook, MacBook Pro, Mini, etc. Doesn't need to be the most expensive, if you choose something below the 3.5k limit, tell us why and what would you do with the rest of the cash. You could also chose some kind of mac and save the rest for, for example, a monitor (apple cinema display, etc).
This topic is because I'm a noob at the Macworld. Thanks!
brokenadvice
You can get the new iMac for about 1,000; and then put the rest in a 401k. You will thank me when you are 60.
Da Rossa
Sorry but I didn't understand the 401k part (is that an expression of your region? Razz I'm Brazilian, By t he way Smile)

iMac: the 24'' one in one of the few stores that sell it costs R$ 7300, remembering that, as of today, $1 = R$ 1.80. Kinda difficult Sad

Please give me more opinions Smile
ddoonie
Well i'll recommend a mac, but which one depends on what you want to do with it... portable or desktop... heavy usage, video editing, or just word processing. I do a lot of graphics editing, and am a huge audio guy, so i will probably end up upgrading to a macbook pro. If you plan on doing mainly wordprocessing, the macbook would be more than enough. I have an ibook g4 that i have had for almost 3 years, and i can do everything i need to do with it. It may bog if i run photoshop, dreamweaver, bridge, safari, transmission, word, and a couple small apps, but to me it is to be expected...
Da Rossa
So let's say I want to do the 'daily tasks' that a former PC user would do. Then add some demanding activities like Adobe CS3 suite, heavy surfing, batch conversion processes, but nothing so professional that would demand a cluster. What would it be?
ddoonie