FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Looking for a job at this point

thinkfacility
So yeah, I've never had a job, but I'm a college student in the middle of winter break. I think I have about a month and a half to work if I start from this point, but should I be looking for a job? I'm not sure if there are any places willing to hire someone for such a short period of time when they have no experience Sad
kerryworkman
thinkfacility wrote:
So yeah, I've never had a job, but I'm a college student in the middle of winter break. I think I have about a month and a half to work if I start from this point, but should I be looking for a job? I'm not sure if there are any places willing to hire someone for such a short period of time when they have no experience Sad

You might try looking for something that is seasonal, and dosen't require any experience. There are alot of business that spring up just for the holidays and then dissapear right around the new year. The only real problem is that alot of them are kind of crappy jobs that don't pay a whole lot. Good luck I hope you find something, it sucks to be a broke college student.
adeydas
try the BPO industry. they are always in need of english speaking young professionals. so if you are proficient in english and don't mind working at odd hours, give it a try. the salary there is pretty good but go only for well known companies 'coz some of them don't pay up in time!

happy job hunting!!!
jharsika
It might be good not to mention how long you plan on working at a place, a lot of companies don't enjoy spending the time and money to train someone who's leaving soon.

Call centres are good to work at, they pay well, aren't very picky, and usually have a turn over rate of 3 months or so(ie after three months you'll go crazy and quit or they'll fire you!!). They're really good on resumes too!