FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Yahoo! default email application

mark
I have been using yahoo for like 3 years now. I want to set it up on my computer as my default email application. i.e, when I open outlook express or microsoft outlook, I can send/recieve yahoo mail. However, I can't figure it out. I don't know what to do. When I use the server for my mail, it says that there is an error. Can someone advice me? It ill be of great help.
xiaarra
I am not sure if I understood your problem correctly. Please correct me if I am wrong.
You are currently using Yahoo by opening the browser and you want to use Outlook express or Microsoft Outlook to get your yahoo mail.
If that is correct then you need a paid subscription. as yahoo does not offer pop3 or imap to free customers. But i have heard that you can get pop3 access even on free accounts, but i never had to use it so i dont know. I personally prefer gmail.
Another way to use yahoo as default email is by installing a plugin ymapi. it can be installed while installing yahoo messenger or yahoo toolbar.
this will not enable you to use outlook to send or receive yahoo mail. but it will open the browser automatically when you click on an email link.

If this does not answer your question just explain a bit more. I would be glad to help you.
Alacarde
That's not really true. You're not supposed to be able to without a subscription, however there is a way, but not with outlook Express. You will have to download Mozilla's Thunder, you can get it from http://www.mozilla.org. The Thunderbird email client it faster and better anyway, just like it is when comparing FireFox and Internet Explorer.

Anyway, that still won't work by itself. You will also have to download and install YPops! for Thunderbird. I can't remember where to get that one, so you will have to just search Google.