FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Trying to start out!!!

Is redesigning my website in PHP a good thing?
yes
100%
 100%  [ 17 ]
no
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Total Votes : 17

IceCreamTruck
OK, here's the deal:

I have been a web programmer for many years, and although I'm slightly behind the times I figure it's better late than never to upgrade my website to PHP.

I was wondering if you guys would show me how you got your start, maybe some ups and downs of PHP, tips and tricks, etc. on programming in PHP.

The reason that I want to start php now is because I needed php5 (well, version 4 or higher) to be able to run my perl stats package inside php pages (yes, the older version of php on server two, frihost, wouldn't run perl scripts).

Now that everything I am doing on the web is possible in PHP I need YOUR HELP to start this project off. Come on guys!!! I know you can do it.

What I would like:
1. Free self help on PHP
2. Links to good starter PHP websites (tutorials, help, gettings started)
3. Links to good example sites
4. To pick your brain for PHP dos and don'ts
Manofgames
Good sites:
W3 Schools
Tizag
PHP manual

I started learning php from these sites, so I can vouch for their content Razz
The php manual is an invaluable reference, which I always visit.
A good option would be to actually download the manual http://www.php.net/download-docs.php

PHP Does and dont's:

NEVER write the php shorthand tag:
Code:

<?
//PHP code here
?>

ALWAYS write the php tags like so:
Code:

<?php
//PHP code here
?>

Not all servers support the shorthand tag, and it gets very annoying if your php code isn't interpreted, and all of your code is outputted as html.

Get a decent editor
If you don't already have it, get Notepad++. Its a great text editor, and a lot of coders I know swear by it Wink

Get a localhost!
You will not believe how much easier it is to test your scripts if you have a localhost on your pc.