FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

How computer affect your health?

How many hours you're facing your computer everyday?
Less than 1 hour
3%
 3%  [ 2 ]
1 to 2 hours
7%
 7%  [ 5 ]
3 to 4 hours
17%
 17%  [ 11 ]
5 to 6 hours
14%
 14%  [ 9 ]
7 to 8 hours
17%
 17%  [ 11 ]
9 to 10 hours
14%
 14%  [ 9 ]
11 to 12 hours
9%
 9%  [ 6 ]
more than 12 hours
15%
 15%  [ 10 ]
Total Votes : 63

cvkien
i am advance in computer. i do graphic design and video and sound editing and web page design plus i am a it technician, i repair computer and so, my total time facing my computer and also other's computer is around 8-12 hours a day. sometimes more than that. so, my friends claim that their vision quality in decrease because of sitting in front of the computer for too long. but for me, i am still ok for everything except some minor pain in my back. that it. others are fine. so how about you?

How computer affect your health? Why and is there any proof??
bigdan
The ways I can think of at this time would be:

- Weight gain, from not doing enough excerise, sitting in front of your machine for too long and eating a lot...also leads to diabetes, and so on...
- Bad back, from not sitting properly at your desk.
- Damage to your eyesight from not setting up your monitor at eye level.

I'm sure there are other factors as well.
MeddlingMonk
There's a few other things you can do to your health, too, if you're not careful. RSI (repetitive strain injury) is one; ie. for your wrists, continuous mouse movements or a sequence of keys could cause this (I would suspect this is more common in gamers, though).

A similar thing can happen to your eyes, too. If your eyesight isn't perfect (and sometimes even if it is), then prolonged computer use can actually cause them to overwork continuously for quite a while, leading to tension headaches and focusing problems.