FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Why go to school or university

Possum
Hi

Why go to school or university.

I am self taught computer and programming. I'm totally confident I can earn an income from my skills. I can't see the use of formal learning at all.. Apart from learning for entertainment reasons. Maybe when you are old. Then a university course might be interesting..

PS I'm glad my doctor and dentist went to uni... And the person who build the plane I flew in.. But there are zillions of jobs especially in the computer and information fields where on the job learning is really the only way to progress.

Your thoughts please...
otiscom
It's the only way to get intervied by most companies.

If you haven't completed a formal education, witch proves you are disaplined and up to the required standard, you 'aint got a chance.

On the other hand I am sure you will get on in life but you may find it a bit harder.

Good luck.
MrBlueSky
If a company needs to hire new personal, they want good ones. Now, if ten people get an interview, and they all say: 'I am good', how does that company know if they are indeed good at their job? Now, if one of these ten has a degree, then the company knows chances are very high this person indeed is good and knows what he is doing.

A degree is just another proof of your capabilities. But of course there are professions in which a degree is less important then in others.
ftv_flung
There's always the Open University -try their website
AftershockVibe
Why not go to school or college? If you're capable of studying by yourself as you say you are then why not just use the extra help?

The problem that you'll face when looking for employers is that without the accreditation of a school, college or university they have no way of knowing what you can actually do.