FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

PHP vs J2EE

rinujohn
Hi friends i'm a newbie to php......And I would like to ask you which one is more powerfull j2ee or php..is it possible for developing enterprise applications using phpas j2ee does.....i seen the most php sites take few time to display....is it that due to bandwind problem or is it slow to run php
Agent ME
I've never noticed a difference between the loading times of PHP and a similar non-scripted file on the same server (except with scripts that do a heck of a lot of calculations or hi-res image manipulations) - if you're noticing a difference, it's probably just your connection to the server.

PHP is a very powerful language, and even has object oriented parts and ability to include other files, and can support many popular databases - should be able to do whatever you need.
manav
i have noticed some thing which is the other way round to ur observation....

j2ee sites take a lot more time than php

and the reasons are in the way these architectures r built....

php is the godmother of all web programming languages but for enterprise solutions i always recommend java because it has been built for the same....
qscomputing
rinujohn wrote:
it possible for developing enterprise applications using phpas j2ee does

I'm not entirely sure what exactly an "enterprise application" is... a program is a program, surely?

rinujohn wrote:
.....i seen the most php sites take few time to display....is it that due to bandwind problem or is it slow to run php

Well obviously running code is a lot slower than just lifting an HTML file off disk and sending it to the user, but a well-written PHP program shouldn't be noticeably slow, no. J2EE on the other hand, can be quite slow. And good luck finding a cheap/free server to run it on.
Stubru Freak
Depends on what you are trying to do.