FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Intel 32 Bit Processor Addressing scheme

bluffmango
Does any1 know what is the maximum theoretical hard disk size that can be connected to a 32 Bit microprocessor?
And there are two mechanisms by which the micrprocessor accesses the addresses of the hard disk what are those two mechanisms..keeping in mind that we are to discuss the schemes from the microprocessor's end and not from hard disks end.....
Please Reply as Early as Possible...
muggle
I'm not quite sure that I understand your question very well, but the size of the hard drive is dependent on the architecture of the computer (e.g. motherboard, BIOS) and it is also OS and FS dependent.
Please provide more details if you want more detailed answer.
bluffmango
im studying the microprocessor systems course...
answer me keeping in view the architecture of a 32 bit Microprocessor e.g intel 80486....it has a data bus of 32 bit etc etc....i know that the MAX ram this processor can address will be 2^32 bytes....i.e...4GB...thats fine...My question is what is the MAX theoretical Hard Disk size that can be attached with this 32 bit Processor....and what is the mechanism by which it can address such a big hard disk .... my teacher told me that there are two mechanisms ......so i m searching for them...which ones are they?........i want an answer from a microprocessors view point like how does it deal with such a big harddisk and lengthy addresses of the hard disk memory blocks....like there storage on its registers may be..etc etc...i hope its detailed enough now.....
Thanks...!
muggle
Well let's say it this way - the addressing mechanisms used in microprocessors to address their memory don't have anything in common with the addressing of the hard drives.