FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Are there any teachers here?

uuuuuu
I'm finishing up a B.S. in mathematics and I'm considering teaching at the secondary level. Who has taught? Is life getting harder for teachers? Is it worth the sacrifice?
What are people's thoughts?
Did a teacher make a big difference in anyone's life?
I never had a good relationship with one of my teachers.

But it seems like it could be a satisfying way to go.

Who makes a lot of money?

Who is satisfied with his job?

A trillion thanks,

Love,

Uwe
wylieconlon
Well, I can't say I'm a teacher myself, but my mother teaches reading.

There were quite a few excellent teachers in my life. There were always more bad teachers, though. So yes, you could definitely make a difference, especially as a math teacher- in my experience, students are more challenged by that, and the good teachers are fewer. It may be harder to teach, but it may also be that much more rewarding.

Teaching, as a whole, probably won't get you the money that you'd get as someone in management, but if you stick with it long enough, and work in a school system with good benefits, it wouldn't matter. We've always had cheap family healthcare as part of my mother's benefits, and job security is excellent.

And satisfaction? To put it one way, she's never been disappointed with her job, only with her students. So if you can deal with that... it's a good career.
fourx
I stopped teaching High School (12 to 15/16 year olds) about this time last year to concentrate on devoloping a private tutoring business- which is now up and running well.
Would I suggest a teaching career to my kids..? Yes, maybe, if they were female- no possible way if they were male.