FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

executing a perl script from within a script

giovle
Hi,

I'm fairly new to Perl programming and have just finished writing some Perl script for my site. I also made a subscription module for a mailing list. Besides that module I also have a contact form to email me comments and suggestions. Now I'd like to add a checkbox to the contact form to enable users to subscribe to the mailing list when sending a message. That way, people can subscribe when they send a message in stead of sending the message and then still having to send a request to enter the mailing list.
Now, the subscription script is already written and operative (cause I still want the seperate module to remain on the site) And I also have a script that handles the messages sent by the contact form (with FormMail).

But to add the extra functionality of the checkbox to subsribe, I was wondering if it was possible to execute the small subscription script from within the FormMail script ... Kinda like a module (but it's not, since you cannot install your own modules on the frihost server)

Anyone got any ideas ...

Grtz

Gio
MrBlueSky
I am not totally sure what you mean, but you actually can use a Perl module. If you put your Perl-module (for example "YourModule.pm" in the same directory as your perl-script, you can use it like this:

Code:

use lib '.';
use YourModule;

This way you can also install aditional modules from CPAN at frihost: you can copy them to some of your own directories, and then use the 'use lib' option to include them.
dayveday
You definitely can use your own perl modules on frihost - I know I am! I don't even have to add the
Code:
use lib '.';

Another way you can get around this, if you don't want to rewrite the subscription script as a module. The way you can do this is to execute the script directly using backticks.
Code: