FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Can someone explain how google works exacly?

bdoneck
I'm new to all this search engine stuff, and I'm kinda lost. My site has been crawled by MSN 31 times and I'm on the first page for one or two keywords already, but Google has crawled my site 21 times and I'm not even in their directory. Can someone tell me how this works please? I feel like a complete noob.

Thanks.
James Bond-007
I'm not too sure eighter, but I was in the same situation as you, lol. MSN bot is ALWAYS on my site, and so was googlebot, but my site did eventually get on google, so be patient.
LostOverThere
Yeah, thats exactly what happened to me, I added my site to Google and it still didn't show
Kit
Just before I get started, no one knows googles algorithm.
Noone not working for the google development and upkeep team that is.

Once you have subitted your site to google, it will be indexed. There is no ifs or buts. If the googlebot has been to your site, you are indexed. Where you are indexed? That's your own perrogative.

Want me to be proved correct? Add a site with some content and repeated keywords and make sure the meta tags are to do with the content. Be original, for example, make your page ranodm drivel about

"yellow croissants wishing to buy a combi van to tour Toronto"

Submit it to google and wait around a week, the google search the same phrase and you'll find yourself near the top.

The way to check your site 100% to see whether it has been indexed or not is to copy your entire URI into google and gof rom there.

Example, my site,
http://www.google.com.au/search?q=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.nakedtoaster.com%2F&sourceid=mozilla-search&start=0&start=0&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official

That many appear a little strange for you as I'm running a converted verion of Mozilla.
bdoneck