FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Kubuntu 3d desktop

kevinalle
Hi.
Im new to Linux.
I just installed kubuntu.
I saw it is possible to give nice 3d and other effects to the desktop.
Is it Beryl?
How do I install this in kubuntu?
Thanks
AftershockVibe
Yeah - beryl is probably the swanky pants desktop you're looking for. Have a look here and scroll down slightly for a guide of how to get it installed. You'll need to install the binary drivers for either ATI or NVidia first so follow the correct part of the guide.

I'm not sure how well supported Intel Graphics cards are at the moment. Also, note that Compiz and beryl and being (re)merged together at the moment so in the near future you might be looking at Compiz for the latest and greatest with Beryl being left behind.

Also, some people find that their graphics card has issues when running beryl so that X11 and therefore Gnome or KDE won't load when beryl is first turned on.
If you're new to Linux this leaves you at the command prompt looking lost. I suggest you learn the following command to memory now if that is the case:
Code:
sudo apt-get remove beryl beryl-manager

This at the least should get you back with a GUI to work with so you can troubleshoot. Good luck - have fun with your wobbling windows Very Happy
[FuN]goku
Berl can be a real pain to setup but its nice to play around and have fun with. But if im not mistaken , there are graphics card specific guides, i had to follow one for ATI cards, and if you're on a debian based machine, you need to add something to the repo's if i recall correctly, but i cant check cuz the beryl wiki is down atm.... and i cant remember how i got mine to work lol.
Arno v. Lumig
It's in Ubuntu 7.04 (Feisty Fawn) by default. If you have installed your drivers then it should work by enabling it in System > Preferences > Desktop Effects.