You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

HELP me with Frontpage PLEASE

Hi !

I am very very new to web page designing.
I decided to use Frontpage as it is better than many wizards found on free hosting sites but I still find it difficult to use, let alone HTML .

Let's get to the questions:

a) What is the best size of a page to be viewed in most screens without odd reformatting that disrupt the initial page layout you designed ?

b) How do you resize with Frontpage a page already made to match the size you want ??? I didn't find the tool to do it !!

Thank you for your help !
biga57 wrote:
a) What is the best size of a page to be viewed in most screens without odd reformatting that disrupt the initial page layout you designed ?

b) How do you resize with Frontpage a page already made to match the size you want ??? I didn't find the tool to do it !!

I haven't used Frontpage for a long time, so I'm not sure if I can help you, but here is some basic information about web pages.

The best page size is a hard question to answer because some people have their screen resolution at 800x600, some at 1024x768 and so on. Most websites use percentages (%) instead of a fixed width, so that the page automatically adjusts to the users screen. Otherwise you should make your site to fit a 800x600 screen and center it. This means your pages should have a width of about 760 pixels.

As for resizing, etc - many people use tables, but there are a lot of designers who hate tables too, so you need to decide for yourself. Try reading one of the online tutorials for webdesign and Frontpage.

I would not really recommend Frontpage though! Try to spend some time learning HTML, or if you really do need a WYSIWYG editor, try a good alternative. Something like NAMO is a good choice if you can afford it, or try one of the free editors like Nvu which works on Windows, Mac and Linux - it's good for beginners.