You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Do Historians live in the past

Having known several History teachers and lecturers, they always seem to dress and act as thought they are an era behind the rest of humanity. Is it just my experience or have others also noticed the Historians are behind the times.
Embarassed Rather a sweeping set of ideas I know, but prove me other wise Rolling Eyes !!!
I couldn't prove it without introducing you to them, but the last four history teachers I've had haven't been anything like that. Some of my math teachers have been though (no offense to anyone here who teaches math).
History is relevant to the now too, because history always repeats. If we learnt from the lessons of our past as humans the world would be a different, better place.
Some of my math teachers have been though (no offense to anyone here who teaches math).

Embarassed Hey I am a retired Maths teacher-perhaps I recognised traits in myself and see them in others???? Embarassed
haha, i think that historians don't live in the past.

Because of their extensive knowledge of the past they have a better understanding on whats going on today.

Besides i'm going to be a teacher some day... history and english so NO historians don't live in the past Sad Razz
I was definitely thinking of the History programs like "Time Team" on the box (TV to the none Brits), where they do seem to always relate to bygone eras rather than the present, and tend to dress the part-One is the Profeessor from Bristol Universtity, and the head of the dig team is a real neanderthal. However they do have some eye candy tobrighten up the programme. Being rather sexist I admit.