FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

External Hard Drive Question

ninjakannon
Okay, this is a pretty simple one but I have no experience with external hard drives so I can't answer it for myself.

I'm thinking of getting an external hard drive, to connect it to my computer what do I do? Does it simply use a USB port? - that I would expect, but I really don't know.

Thanks. Smile
mystzero
External hard disk can be hook up to your computer in many ways. The most commonly used interface would be USB. Some of them might come with a USB cable split into two at the other end. This is to ensure that sufficient power is being supplied to your external hard disk. Just as connecting a thumb drive to a computer, you just need to plug in the cable to the corresponding USB port on your computer. If your external hard disk has a firewire interface, use it. Although firewire 400 has a lower rated transfer rate as compared to USB's rated 480 Mbps bandwidth, firewire 400 promises faster overall transfer speed as it has a higher sustainable transfer rate as distortion of signals do not occur as often as USB. Other than that, eSata is another interface. As its name implies, it is being derived from the ubiquitous SATA interface. It beats USB and Firewire 400/800 in terms of transfer speed. However, one drawback is that eSata does not supply power to the connecting device. Therefore, you have to hook up another cable to the main power socket for the hard disk to function properly.
Byakuya_Kuchiki
External hard drives are mainly used to back up data, and for casual usage. If your planning on using it as a normal hard drive, it's life expectancy will be shortened. External hard drives if used a lot last maybe 1/2 the time then normal hard drives. Just something to keep in mind. Smile
ninjakannon
Thanks a lot both of you, that's all I needed to know - I think!