FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Chkdsk on XP returns some errors

dickyzin
When I run chkdsk (also known as scandisk for Windows XP), I get the following error message.
"The size of the \WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\config\default.LOG entry is not valid."

Anyone know what the problem with this is? It also prompted me to run chkdsk with the /F parameter to fix errors but when I tried that, it said the following:

"Chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another
process. Would you like to schedule this volume to be
checked the next time the system restarts? (Y/N)"

I've had some bad experience with running Chkdsk when system restarts so I'm reluctant to do this. Any advice is greatly appreciated.
DeiviD
well i always had to schedule scandisks for it to fix most stuff, and never had problems with it, so i would try using it yeah.
KHO
just let it schedule itself to do that
IceCreamTruck
It is true that chkdsk can catch you in a loop of death, but usually if there are serious problems with the computer to begin with. In other words you should not fear the chkdsk... only the errors that it will help you find.

Usually the errors that come up in chkdsk mean that your hard drive is going bad. Yes, chkdsk will fix them but if there are errors it's a good time to do your data backups and get ready to replace your hard disk.

A healthy hard drive will have no errors.

BTW, you can always skip out of the chkdsk on boot check by pressing the "any" key. Assuming you can find the "any" key.
dickyzin
Thanks for the replies. I will schedule chkdsk the next time system restarts and hopefully things will be fixed. When I run chkdsk, I get different problems different times. Some times, it shows no errors and sometimes it shows errors, usually in the WINDOWS directory. But not consistent errors. I hope my hard drive is still good. Anyone know how or why hard drives fail?
orcaz
dickyzin wrote: