FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Lua Scripting question

m-productions
Hey, Im new to lua, and im trying to pull something off, I know how to script in ACtionScript (flash) what I need know how to do in lua, so somehthing like this (code writing in AS)
Code:

for (i=1;i<=5;i++) {
["string"+i] = i
}

so that it would make
string1 = 1, string2 = 2 ... ect, easy in flash, but not sure how to do in lua
qebab
What you want is probably a hashtable (or associative array) which I'm not sure how is implemented in Lua. To me it looks like you're trying to implement dynamic variables, ie. variables that get names dynamically. Is this correct? I didn't know it was possible to assign a string literal to something in any language, but a hashtable will do just the same, and will make the whole thing a lot cleaner.

In python:

Code:

strings = dict() #Alternatively strings = {}
for i in range(1, 6):
    strings["string%d" % i] = i
print strings
#Returns {'string4': 4, 'string5': 5, 'string2': 2, 'string3': 3, 'string1': 1}

What the code returns will differ on differents computers, as dictionaries are unordered by definition, as indeed most hashtables are. But you can ask for the keys of it ('string1'...) and get it in a list, and sort that list before you output:

Code:

for key in sorted(strings.keys()):
    print key, ": ", strings[key],
#Returns 'string1': 1 'string2': 2..., and will do on any computer

Which means you can gather all your strings in the same object and pass it around to functions more easily than would otherwise have been possible. Of course, if you're doing something as simple as the example you used, there's probably no use for this, you can just pass the minumum and maximum (in this case 1 and 5) to any function that will use this. I don't know how much help this is, but I've heard that Lua is quite similar to Python, so I hope it is of some help, at least.
m-productions