FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Dow Closing above 14000?

Talk2Tom11
When do you think the Dow Jones will actually close above 14000? Could it be today (7/18/07). The Dow has already passed 14000 during inter-day trading. But has not yet closed at it. Some experts feel it might take until the end of the year for it to finally happen. What are your thoughts?
crdowner
The experts were wrong. The Dow closed over 14,000 in late July. Of course a few days later it dropped around 300 points. Looks like it may take a while to get back to 14,000.
deStructuralized
Boy do I love day traders.

"We're almost at 14,000 oh my god, buy buy buy buy!"
"I made 20 cents, time to sell, sell, sell, sell!"
"Guys wait it's coming down a little, sell, sell, sell"

Brilliant.
scrub
Hi all,

I'm figuring the Dow has maxed out and will never 14,000 again...I have very little experience watching the economic and financial markets (let alone investing in them!), but based on my reading about peak oil over the last few years, and dabbling in reading about how an interest-based economic system requires constant growth (provided up til now by cheap energy from fossil fuels)...I wonder whether the rather quick drop from 14,000 to 13,000 points to the house of cards beginning to collapse.

The market works in mysterious (to me!) ways, so I won't be too surprised if the Dow shoots right back up to 14,000 and keeps going. But I know that sooner or later the growth will end and we'll see a financial meltdown. It's just so hard to predict exactly when! :)

Have fun out there,
Scrub
Billy Hill
scrub wrote:

I'm figuring the Dow has maxed out and will never 14,000 again...I
I'm pretty sure it will.

Quote: