FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

How to pronounce English words.

Wynand
How to pronounce English words.

I am not an English speaker. What I mean by that is that I can read and write English but I do not really speak the language. This is because I am a student and live in a country where all the lectures are in your mother tongue but all the manuals and study material are in English.

I accepted a work position next year (when I have completed my studies) and it is a predominately-English firm. The problem now is that I do not know how to correctly pronounce words. This is because from a young age, I was watching television programs from all around the world and in every program they pronounce the English word different.

What do think will help me?
mathiaus
Here are some sites...
Pronouncing English Sounds
English Pronunciation/Listening
Learning English - Pronunciation tips

Lots of people claim that English is the most difficult language to learn (I personally would've expected Chinese) so I suggest looking for some 'English' classes at college or somewhere similar.
Shewolf
People claim Norwegian being harder to learn than Chineese, but anyway.

After trying to learn this language I am typing for more than ten years, I am fully aware of this problem, and I don't appreciate it. Well, you could try watching the televistion soem more, listen to the sounds, and try to pronounce them to yourself. Until you feel you've got it right. As you said, English is spoken in different ways around the globe, but try to grasp the general sound of the language, and speak it. You can do anything by practice Wink
coolclay