FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

SEO Priorities

GSIS
I'm very new to the process of publicising web sites.

My site is now coming along reasonably well - the structure is reasonably stable and, I think, it's time to let the world outside Frihost know it exists.

My understanding, having read one of the threads here, is that metatags are not used by Google. If this is the case I probably shouldn't waste time setting them up.

My definition of a successful rollout would be that the search engines start to find the site, and give it a high ranking, as quickly and accurately as possible thus attracting customers who are interested in supporting the primary purpose of the site (a recommended service provider directory) - and who are also interested in buying some of the goods I have on offer.

What process should I be following?

What should my priorities be?
imagefree
Code:

My site is now coming along reasonably well - the structure is reasonably stable and, I think, it's time to let the world outside Frihost know it exists.

My understanding, having read one of the threads here, is that metatags are not used by Google. If this is the case I probably shouldn't waste time setting them up.

My definition of a successful rollout would be that the search engines start to find the site, and give it a high ranking, as quickly and accurately as possible thus attracting customers who are interested in supporting the primary purpose of the site (a recommended service provider directory) - and who are also interested in buying some of the goods I have on offer.

What process should I be following?

What should my priorities be?

You said adding keywords is useless. ( you might have read my post in another thread). I say no. What if you dont have any text content on a page ??? Keywords help.
What if you have visiters from a non famous search engine? Keywords help again.