FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Building a website from scratch

giovle
Hi there,

I'm not exactly new to html, but I am new to flash-apps and so forth. Next month I need to design a website for a musicband. Does anyone have any ideas to make it look cool and yet well-organised?

Any suggestions how I should start etcetera would definitely come in handy Very Happy
Animal
This thread will probably be helpful.
hk_36
Hi.

I've worked as a web-designer for quite some time now, and i've learned that simple and clean sites are the most attactive and the most demanded. One should always keep it simple, yet elegant, with a good choice of colours and user-friendly navigation. Throw in some well designed logo, naviation system, and a well restructured photo and u've got a great looking site. Avoid unnecessary content and stick to the basics. Good Luck.
giovle
hk_36 wrote:
Hi.

I've worked as a web-designer for quite some time now, and i've learned that simple and clean sites are the most attactive and the most demanded. One should always keep it simple, yet elegant, with a good choice of colours and user-friendly navigation. Throw in some well designed logo, naviation system, and a well restructured photo and u've got a great looking site. Avoid unnecessary content and stick to the basics. Good Luck.

Thx for the pointers. I was thinking of a simple basis layout: logo top-left, menubar left under the logo and the rest as the target window.

Since it's a site for a musicband I was just thinking of 4-5 menu's: a simple biography, a fotosection, a calendar (to note all important gigs), a guestbook/forum/blog (don't know yet which I'm going to use), contactinformation with our technical rider and that's it.
Any piece of advice on which language I'd better use for this? (preferably something that will work well on most computers). Does anyone have a good (flash)script to set up a fotogallery?

thx