FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

CPanel and FTP access is buggy...

JJGY
Hello:
Let me start off by saying thank you very much to the fine people here at frihost, I appreciate the work you guys are putting out for such an accessible way to get your stuff on the web. I've been using this service for several months now, and have found it to be satisfactory, but recently I have been having some trouble maintaining my site. Firstly, access to CPanel has been somewhat sketchy. Sometimes it works, and others I just end up with a blank page in front of me. Also, whenever I try and use CPanel to get to other services (squirrelmail, phpmyadmin) I am directed to localhost, which of course pulls up an error, as the software is not on my computer.
None of this is really an issue of course, but is somewhat annoying to work around. What has been getting me is my inability to connect to my server via FTP. I have triple checked my username and password, and both are valid (according to CPanel). I've been using FireFTP, Dreamweaver and CuteFTP. The issue persists accross each platform. I'm still able to upload files through Cpanel, but this is somewhat tedious, and lately I've noticed that rarely am I able to unpack a tar.gz file successfully. I apologize if I'm complaining over stuff which shouldn't be that big of a deal, but It's made running my various projects somewhat of a pain. Thank you in advance for any light you guys might be able to shed on these issues Very Happy
mOrpheuS
Since you are on server 2, I assume you're talking about DirectAdmin - not cPanel.

The problem with squirrelmail & phpmyadmin pointing to localhost may be caused if you are using the url cp.frih.net for accessing DirectAdmin instead of the default subdomain.frih.net:2222 .
It's a known issue with with 3rd party software in DirectAdmin when being accessed this way.