FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Whats the best PHP server?

knight_frost
I am a newbie in database system... can anyone tell wats a PHP and what is the best PHP server for it?
Roald
Apache with MySQL for the database, they're just like PHP freeware.
simplyw00x
PHP is a web programming language. There is only one PHP 'server', called 'PHP'. In order to use this you'll (normally) need a web server as well, like apache, and a database would be nice too (like mySQL). Frihost provides all 3.
maeglin20
I think, Apache and Mysql is the best...
sabe
So just to make sure. If I have a license for a server, I have an "old" MS 2000 server. I can add a php language, like MySQL onto it and have a PHP server?

Is that all I have to do? It almost seems too easy. What about hardware. What would you suggest as the basic stats for a server for a small use? I will only have 500 or so clients. I am trying to build an Intranet for my school. Does anybody know a good resource for allowing it to stream too? Question
Stubru Freak
sabe wrote:
So just to make sure. If I have a license for a server, I have an "old" MS 2000 server. I can add a php language, like MySQL onto it and have a PHP server?

Is that all I have to do? It almost seems too easy. What about hardware. What would you suggest as the basic stats for a server for a small use? I will only have 500 or so clients. I am trying to build an Intranet for my school. Does anybody know a good resource for allowing it to stream too? Question

No. You just install PHP on the server. MySQL is a database. But anyway, do you really think you'll need PHP when you don't even know what it is?
vinx_18
There are bundles of LAMP which stands for Linux Apache Mysql Php or WAMP which stands for Windows Apache Mysql Php on the net available... just research about it ...Smile
Diablosblizz
If your going to start a personal server with everything go with Xampp..