You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

How to do a comic?

Can everyone tell me how to make a comic... its a work from the scohol and its difficult!!
hi there,

Well, i am not an expert but...

1- Get a good story
2- Focus on the most important moments of the story
3- Draw a kind of irregular grid
4- Draw those most important moments on the grid
5- Afterwards if you want, paint using the classic colors

Stay Cool.
Understanding Comics is an excellent tool for mastering the craft. As to practical tips:

Work large and reproduce small: Artists typically work in a scale twice as big as reproduction. Reducing teh image through scanning hidse a lot of eraser marks and lets you add MUCH more detail.

Befriend an art supply store employee: They know what tools work and can reccomend the right paper, pens, pencils and such for what you want to do.

STUDY the form: Look at everything from Chick Tracts to Zines for ideas. Ignore the glossy and polished that may be beyond your skills just now. Focus on what you can do. Start a journal or notebook. Doodle religiously.

Kick yourself out of your comfort zone: Try new things. Like drawing Batman all the time? Try drawing him reading the paper and drinking a cup of coffee. Play with new materials.

Look into Print on Demand, Cafe Press, and APE in San Francisco.

While I agree with the bit about doodling religiously, I think a lot of comics artists also go a bit overboard with the art, to the detriment of their stories. A comic is nothing without a story. That is, if we're talking about full-length comics, not strips. Words, plot, context, etc. will make your art more powerful, and you have to make sure there's something interesting tying it all together.
I am not an expert but here is a workflow that I use when I design flash animations. It could be used for comics too:

What is your target audience?
Who are your characters?
Their traits, personalnities, history and interaction with other.