You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

New job!

So for you guys that don't know me, i'm an IT tech in Seattle, my work office is in Texas, but all the work is contracted in Minisota. but yeah I do alot of travel and now have the option to switch jobs to a local cabler getting paid over $12 more than what i do as a IT tech. If you where in my sheos would you change them or stick with the job that most people dream of having??
It depends on what's more important to you. Everyone has different value scales, so what other people decide they like will not really help you.

First, do you hate all the traveling around?
Do you like your current job or just your job title?
Is the new job you are considering switching to worth the $12 increase? (ie: maybe it's harder work, longer hours, etc.)
Which one has better advancement opportunity? Or rather, does advancement matter to you at all or are you more worried about "now"?

So basically, consider all those questions, and make your decision based on what your preference is rather than what someone else thinks.

But of course, you can always switch back to your old occupation if the new one doesn't work out, but I don't recommend making any hasty decisions until you've thought out all the details and decided you will have no regrets even if it does not work out.
I completely agree with the previous post. Other things to consider include:
Are both jobs considered to be "exempt"? In other words are you paid the same each week regardless of the numbers of hours worked? Many times exempt positions have higher annual salaries but if you typically work more than 40 hours a week, you may be better off getting overtime pay.