FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Console Gaming - Old Systems vs. New Systems

What Do You Think Is Better For Console Gaming
Newer Systems - Graphics are Everything!
11%
 11%  [ 1 ]
Older Systems - Bring Back the Storylines and Gameplay!
88%
 88%  [ 8 ]
Ancient Systems - 4 Colors is All I Need!
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Pong - Simply the Best!
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Total Votes : 9

TruPain
ok, first off, I have to say that I have been playing gme for many many years... since 1979 to be exact... And while games are overall better than they were back then, the game today is what I have the biggest problem with...

I think that the newer systems are mostly about graphics or eye candy as they say... and this takes away from the gameplay and story line "most" times...

What ever happened to the games that used to take 100+ hours to complete?

Now we seem to be left with the games that have graphics that look almost life-like... but the game is over in less than 20 hours...

Or god forbid I mention "The Bouncer" by Square/Enix that even if you sucked at the game, it was over in 30 minutes or less... but hey... look at those graphics...

I seriously would like to see games go back to the older systems, basically the time of the NES, SNES, SMS, TurboDuo, and the Genesis... graphics were decent, but the development teams spent more time on the storyline and gameplay than they did with the graphics... and I found these games to be much more fun...

So what do you think?
azbuky
I am not a console gamer but a PC gamer. But the thing is the same. All games have wonderful graphics but they lack game play. For example I am a huge fan of the Heroes of Might and Magic series, and in my opinion Heroes III is the best Turn Based Strategy Game ever. But when Heroes V apeared with 3D graphics and all, much of the magic of the game was gone.

Long live old but real games! Smile
bigdan