FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Lowering the age limit for Drivering

Guelila
Hey,
I was thinking and it came to my mind that I think it will be ok if the governments lower the age restriction for Driving.

Why?

well because I think most of us teens have driven a Go-Kart or some kind of vehicle.
Even when we go to play golf, Im sure most of have have driven the golf cart (which some of them are pretty fast).
And we (in general) know more about cars and traffic rules than what people used to know long ago..

I understand that a real car is much different from the vehicles that I talked about, but still.

Am I the only one who thinks this? Confused
pampoon
The limit on age was not made only because of experience, it was made also because of maturity level. I have no knowledge of other countries, but in the US most states have an age restriction of 16.

If we lower it any, it'll be 15. Quite frankly, If I had been given my license at 15, there would be a few more accidents in the records.

Most 15 year olds just aren't mature enough to handle that kind of responsibility.

But this is just my opinion.

God bless,
Pampoon
Macko112
First of all, the age limit for driving isn't decided by the government but rather on a state level. So I don't know what the age requirement is where you live, but it is 16 here in Texas.

I completely agree with pampoon. It is not a matter of being able to step on a petal and turn a wheel. With age comes knowledge and maturity. You learn what you need to do in certain situations and proper techniques and what not. At age 14 or 15, I don't believe kids are able to learn/abide by all the rules of driving. Sixteen is a good age to start.
Duncan Idaho
Guelila wrote:
Hey,
I was thinking and it came to my mind that I think it will be ok if the governments lower the age restriction for Driving.

Why?